Parish Council Meeting

Thornton-in-Craven Parish Council does not simply operate within an area of beautiful countryside or within an attractive village; we are here working as both part of, and for the community, supporting the needs and aspirations of the community in many and varied ways; working alone and in partnership with other levels of local government and other agencies. We all need to nurture and encourage community life both now and as we plan for the future.

Thornton-in-Craven retains a vibrant community spirit with a lively primary school, St. Mary’s church, village hall, cricket and green field play areas. The strength of any community lies with its people and the Parish Council recognises the effort and commitment of so many individuals and groups within the community.

The Parish Council is the first, and some say the most important, level of local government. It is the third tier after the County Counci and the District Council, but it is a non-political body. It is at the “grass roots” and is in the best position to represent the views of the local community. Councillors represent the electors within the parish and the Council is a consultee on planning matters within the civil parish. Although the Parish Council can express a view, including objections to planning applications, the decision to approve or reject is the responsibility of Craven District Council planning Department.

Councillors meet in the Village Hall on the 1st Wednesday of the month, normally at 7 pm. Agendas for the meetings are displayed on the website and on the village notice board at the top of Booth Bridge Lane.

The meetings are open to the public and electors are encouraged to ask questions or raise issues at the 15 minute open forum session held at 7pm. At this point the meeting in progress is adjourned and is a time when electors are free to voice any concerns to, or ask questions of, the Councillors. The issues raised will either be discussed at the appropriate point on the agenda (if they have been scheduled for inclusion) or they will be placed on the agenda for discussion at the next scheduled meeting. However, urgent matters requiring discussion or action by the Parish Council that cannot, due to the timing of the receipt of the information, be dealt with at the current meeting but requiring attention before the date of the next scheduled meeting, will be dealt with specifically at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Parish Council called by the Chairman.

The Parish Council comprises 7 Councillors and one officer.

Parish Councillors

  • Mr Martin Lockyer
  • Mrs Annwyn Dean
  • Mrs Linda Harrison
  • Mr Martyn Leigh
  • Mr Andrew Peace – Chair
  • Mrs Pauline Presley
  • Ms Donna Ryan

Council Officers

Margaret Smith 07505 142383

District Councillor is Mr R Pringle
North Yorkshire County Councillor Andy Solloway


Your Councillors or the Clerk are useful sources of local information, please feel free to contact any of us.